A postcard from Gauteng (Dee)

A postcard from Gauteng (Dee)

8 499Km

Date of dispatch : 2014-02-24

Postcard # 965

Country: South Africa

Gauteng is one of the nine provinces of South Africa. It was formed from part of the old Transvaal Province after South Africa's first all-race elections on 27 April 1994. It was initially named Pretoria-Witwatersrand-Vereeniging (PWV) and was renamed "Gauteng" in December 1994. The name Gauteng is derived from the Afrikaans goud (gold) plus the Sotho-Tswana locative suffix "-ng".